A Midgardian Holiday I understand and fully support

It has come to my attention that today, April 7 by the Midgardian calendar, is National Beer Day. This I can get behind. I may not quaff whole hogsheads at a sitting the way Thor and Volstagg do, but I do like a good, cold brew from time to time.

Thusly, I am at the local market, perusing the malty offerings to find an appropriate beverage with which to celebrate.

I saw this one first and admired the label art, but it reminded me a bit too much of some unpleasant people* I know back "home" in Asgard…

HEBvalkyrie.jpg

Plus, Double IPA? Too hoppy.

One of these aptly-named ales might do…

HEBiniquity.jpg

Hmmm. I don’t know. Perhaps this is more "me"…

HEBrogue.jpg

I do have a certain roguish charm, but I am most assuredly not dead. I shall keep looking.

Aha! THIS one. Appropriately named for multiple reasons!

double-bastard-ale.jpg

So there, Odin. What’s it say down there in the tiny letters? ""You Shall Free the Bastard, and the Bastard Shall Set You Free." Hmmmm. Nnnnnah. I want to be free, of course, but I can think of simply scores of people whom I’d adore to see behind bars for whole geologic eras…

Ah.

Got it.

HEBarrogantbastard.jpg

If I had a penny for every time I wanted to say that to Thor and his stupid hammer, I’d have enough to buy a thousand breweries’ worth of beer and the kegs to put it in.

A toast, on this National Day of Beer: "Here’s to sorrow: all for you and none for me. Here’s to joy: all for me and none for you. Here’s to laughter: all at you and all by me. Here’s to drink: enough for me and enough for you—to have a really nasty hangover in the morning."

>|: [

*I dated one of them for a little while, hundreds of years ago.  She broke it off and then spread it around that I dumped her, and since then she and all her bitchy sisters have really had it in for me. Jumped-up tavern wenches, all of them.

Leave a Reply

