Getting Sucked Into Another Hobby, Part II: So Many Colors

As I said before, the human female would really like to write in unusual colors.  I really don’t understand this newfound desire for a “signature color.”  She’s been wandering around, mumbling things like, “Am I a green person or a blue person?  If I could get a brilliant cobalt blue, that would be good.  Or maybe a deep, reddish purple.  Or a nice light green for a botanical journal.  Or a blue-violet…”  Dammit, woman, it’s just writing.   And it’s just YOUR writing, which no one is ever going to read.  Face it:  you are not Shakespeare.  You are not Mark Twain.  You are not even Bulwer-LyttonNo one  is going to be preserving the precious first drafts of your shopping lists for posterity.

How about puce?  You strike me as a puce sort of person.

She has spent far too much time trying out all of the inks the human male has in the house.

ink2

You can see that there are several blues, as well as a nice red that Sigyn is interested in.  Note also the scattered waterproofness tests here and there.  Sadly, most fountain pen inks are not reliably waterproof, and some disappear entirely when wet.

ink1

Ehehehee!  I see she has written here that this dark green is something I might like.  I do indeed!  Diamine green-black.  I must remember that, just in case I ever descend into pen madness.  The human female is leaning toward the Imperial Blue at the bottom, there.  She says it is “just the color of cooked blueberries, not blue and not purple.”  The woman thinks with her stomach.

Oh, great.  Now she is looking at inks online.  Hide the credit card.

ink7

These are from a French ink-maker. “Gaudy,” spread thinly, would just begin to cover it.  Sigyn is intrigued because many of them have botanical names, and some are scented.  I find most Midgardian perfumes crude and overbearing.  But sure, human–go ahead and order smelly ink so you can offend two senses at once!

The same manufacturer developed some special anniversary inks.  I must admit, the deep emerald is quite nice–green with flecks of gold and a blood-red sheen in some lights.  The human male says it will clog or eat the workings of many pens.  Yes!  Order that one, and end all this.

>|: [

4 comments

  1. Sometimes I sort of wish for an ink the color of that screaming electric blue DMC (995, was it?). But then I remember I mostly liked it because it didn’t fit AT ALL with the surrounding colors.

    1. I’m not surprised you do–think of the possibilities for mischief! If the human female ever needs to sign an important document, you could put that color in her pen!

  2. I am with you, completely, Loki. The Diamine Green Black is my most recent purchase (today, in fact) and I am in love. It is a source of civic pride for me that I come from the city that makes Diamine ink.

Leave a Reply

