A January Afternoon Walk, Part II: More Treasures

I know that I always grumble about having to accompany Sigyn on these botanical walkabouts, but I usually do end up seeing something interesting or even beautiful.  (Sigyn is always the most beautiful sight, but some of the plants are nice too.)

sedgemeadow

It’s good to see the sedge meadow all squishy and wet.  It’s bottomland woods, so it’s meant to be that way.  We’re not wearing rubber boots today, so we will have to admire it from here.  Come summer, it’ll be a marvel of dappled green shade.

Sigyn, what have you found?  A little leftover bit of fall color?

smilax

Be careful, Sigyn–it’s that prickly greenbriar stuff.  Do you know, usually I hate the color orange, but that one leaf is just glowing like a citrine.  Or a citrus.  One of those.

Ah.  This must be the scratch-and-sniff portion of the walk.  The human female is rattling on about glands and aromatic oils and how this wax myrtle is related to bayberry and blah blah blah.  I just know that it smells good.

myrica2

I think that Sigyn is gathering some leaves to make into a sachet.  It’s not too “girly” a scent, so I’ve no complaint.

I may pick a few of these lichens to take home.  Just look at all the wonderful shapes and textures.  Lichens are very underrated.

lichens

Oh, now this is a real treasure.  Sigyn likes the flowers (they’re late), even though they’re a scruffy, dirty white.

frostweed

I’ve actually been reading up on this plant.  Its name–frostweed–intrigued me.  Apparently, if there’s a cold snap while the stems are still green, the stems rupture and the sap oozes out, freezing as it does so.  The result is a delicate ice “flower” that lasts only as long as the freezing temperatures.  You’d have to be in the right place at the right time to see it.  Sigyn, if we ever get a hard freeze this winter, we should come back out to see if we can catch it.  Or if the human would just wander off and look at something else, I could zap this one…

We’ve been hiking for an hour or more, and it is just about time for the human female to think about going home and making us some dinner.  (I am a god; I do not cook.)  But before we trek back to the vehicle, we should take a little rest, and here is the perfect spot.

moss

Better idea:  Human, you heave yourself up, slog back to the car, go home, and cook dinner.   Call me when it’s ready and my sweetie and I will teleport home from  here.

>|: [

 

5 comments

    1. True story: the humans were supposed to become betrothed there on the night of a splendid full moon. However, this romantic event was interrupted by a herd of feral swine. I couldn’t have managed things better myself.

  1. “True story: the humans were supposed to become betrothed there on the night of a splendid full moon. However, this romantic event was interrupted by a herd of feral swine. I couldn’t have managed things better myself.” – REALLY???!!!!

Leave a Reply

