That Which Will Not Grow Back Home, Part IV: A Bunch of Other Stuff

While I fain would bid farewell to this beautiful but endless horticultural profusion, Sigyn and the humans are still quite happily exploring. I would wander off to nap in a shady spot, except I must be always vigilant that Sigyn does not become lost or take a tumble from one of her arboreal perches.

At least we are now exploring all of the non-Azaleas and not-Maples. We have come a bit too late in the season for the best of the Camellias.  This one seems infused with a certain tristesse.

camellia

Which means–oh, joy–that the human female is talking of dragging us back here next winter.  Be still my little frozen heart.

There are a fair number of what the signs point out as Fringe Tree.  I must admit, the common name is apt.

chionanthus

But I cannot for the life of me figure out why this plant is called “Bugle.”  Sigyn, do you hear anything?  Me, neither.

ajuga

Sigyn likes this next one because it is fun to play in and has pretty flowers.

styrax

*I* like it because the human female had to read the tag to know what it is!  I love it when she’s flummoxed.  Flummoxing is good.

We seem to have timed our visit for the finale of the Magnolia show.  The enormous blossoms are very fragrant.

magnolia

They smell even sweeter when there’s a Sigyn in them.

The humans are starting to wilt a bit.  Perhaps that’s because we have been here FOREVER!  Sigyn, my love, you just have time to look at a few more plants and choose a favorite.

How did I know it would be something red?

aesculus

>|: [

Leave a Reply

