Dubious Posies From a June Walk

Sigyn and I have grown bored with the basket flowers and are poking about to see what else is here.  Besides heat.  Norns’ nighties, it is scarcely 9:00 a.m. and already it feels like Muspelheim out here.  Apparently, we did not start early enough.

This yellow-flowered flax looks as if it would rather be some place cooler.  You and me both, little one, you and me both.

flax.jpg

Slanty Latin names are very confusing.  The basket flowers are Centaurea, and these little pink ones are Centaurium.  No relation.  Now I ask you, how does that help anything?  When I take over the world, I am going to let Sigyn re-name all the plants with words that make sense.

centaurium

(Actually, I already have a brilliant plan.  I can recognize the genus Rosa when I see it, so I will keep that and place all the rest of the plants in the genus Other.  That way, any idiot–the human female included–will be able to sight-identify any plant on earth to genus.)

This third pink thing is related to the second pink thing.  The human female identified this one for me once, now let me think…  It’s…um…Sebacea.  You know, like pimples.  What a horrid name!

sabatia

It makes Sigyn look tiny.

This yellow flower is weird-looking.  It has ten stamens, but they don’t all match.

chamaecrista

The human female has finished with the basket flowers and is now snooping into what we are doing. She says it is called Partridge Pee, which doesn’t sound very nice.  Sigyn, maybe you don’t want to touch that.

This lavender one seems harmless enough, though.  Does it have a gross name too?

ruellia

Oof. The sun is climbing quickly toward the zenith.  We can look at a few more plants, love, but then I will be ready for some breakfast.  But after handling pee and pimples, you should definitely wash your hands before eating!

>|: [

 

2 comments

  1. “Muspelheim” – sounds about right for us here, too!

    On Fri, Jun 24, 2016 at 10:07 AM, Loki Speaks… wrote:

    > lokispeaks posted: “Sigyn and I have grown bored with the basket flowers > and are poking about to see what else is here. Besides heat. Norns’ > nighties, it is scarcely 9:00 a.m. and already it feels like Muspelheim out > here. Apparently, we did not start early enough. This ” >

Leave a Reply

