“Q” is for “Quilt.” “O” is for “Oops,” Part IV: If You Make Something Idiot-Proof…

As I have noted before, the human female’s sewing machine is older than she is.  Kinda dinged up, some of the finish peeling, no fancy whistles and bells, no clever electronic brain, no fool-proof safety features–and the machine is pretty basic as well!   Still, it manages to turn out a pretty good seam.

foot up

Providing she remembers to lower the presser foot.  Tsk, tsk.  It’s a good thing that Mister Seam-Ripper is our friend.

seamripper

Let’s try again!  Edges aligned, foot down, and…go!

right-side-out.jpg

The human female is pulling at her gray hair and muttering.  What’s that?  Oh.  Well, why didn’t you TELL me you needed me to hand you the pieces right-sides-together?

seamripper2

There!  Pat yourself on your pointy little head, mortal!  You successfully managed a three-and-a-half-inch seam!

sewn right

Or you would have, if you had remembered to check the bobbin…

out-of-bobbin

I can see that it is going to be a looooong afternoon.  I shall have to supervise your every action carefully.   Take a deep breath and calm yourself, lest you fill this quilt with so much negative energy that the tot cries every time he sees it.

Here, let me help.  Tell you what:  I’ll match up the pieces, right-sides-together, pin them, and hand them to you to sew.  You can manage that, can’t you?

Proper pinning is essential. Most people don’t use enough pins, and the work slips.

somanypins.jpg

No chance of that happening today!   Hogun’s topknot, woman!  Quit your crying!  Here–I’ll even feed it through the machine for you!  Do I have to do everything myself?

somanypins2

>|: [

 

 

 

8 comments

  1. Pfft! Have you ever *used* a sewing machine? I noted in the tags for this blog entry what is likely to result. I can’t think of a better way to spend a lazy afternoon than watching the human female struggle to replace a broken needle and pull a bent pin out of the bobbin race…

    1. Alas, I have not, and it’s probably for the best; thank you for the clarification, however. I was afraid you’d come down with a case of altruism.

Leave a Reply

