Another Great Bog Adventure, Part I: More Squishy Bits

The plant nerds are at it again.  I thought we were done with all the mud and mosquitoes of the bog, but it no!  They want to see what the “fall flora” looks like, especially since it has been a wettish summer.  Sigyn is eager to go, and I will admit that am all for walks that do not include certain blond goody-goodies in too much spandex.

So here we are again!  It may look like a pretty little pond, but I promise you, the edges are QUITE squishy.

bog

Sigyn, I know you want to look at all the plants, but please be careful.  Remember that even the shallow bits are several Sigyns deep.

As before, another botanist is concentrating on the grasses, rushes, and sedges while the human female is focusing on all the showy-flowered items.  This one certainly qualifies and there is a LOT of it.

rhexia

The human female says it is called, “meadowbeauty.”  Why not “bogbeauty?”  Honestly, mortals are so bad a naming things!  Sigyn likes the curly yellow bits on this one, which has prompted this exchange between the human female and myself:  “You, human: what are those things?”  “Anthers.”  “Yes, please answer the question.”  “Anthers.”  “Yes, I would like some.  What. Are. The. Yellow. Bits?”  “Anthers.”  ARRRRRGGGH!!!  She really needs to quit being such a pain and to get that lisp taken care of.

Not everything showy is colorful. The human female’s attention has been caught by something “spikey-bottlebrushy” and green near some bushes up ahead.  Odin’s eyepatch!  Now she’s screeching for everyone else to come see.  What the–

Oh.  Oh, look, Sigyn–it’s orchids.

orchid

I approve of this orchid!  The little green spiders please me.  Sigyn seems smitten as well.  But ick–my boots are becoming terribly muddy, as are several of the botanists whose balance is less than perfect and who have sat down or fallen in.  Give the orchid one last hug, sweetie, and let’s go explore the dry margins of the bog before we too get a soaking.

The human is rattling off names at a furious pace:  sunflower, doveweed, beebalm, partridge pea…  What is this little one?

diodia

Buttonweed?  Whoever saw square pointy buttons?  The human female says it is related to the bluets we enjoyed in the spring.  I guess I can see the resemblance.

We should not neglect the shrubbery, either.  Human, go get a sample of that one right there.

Ehehehehehee!  Listen to her curse and look at her run!  She’s clutching her hand and glaring daggers at me, but I swear I didn’t know the fool thing was home to a bunch of hornets.  It’s just a happy little lagniappe to round out a good morning of botanizing.

>|: [

3 comments

  1. Loki, I was honored to attend this Great Bog Adventure with you and Sigyn, the “human female”, the “other botanist” and those “plant nerds”.
    Despite your grumpiness at times, they have helped me learn about those plants….
    Well, perhaps not, but Sigyn has helped me to stop and enjoy their beauty.

Leave a Reply

