Aaaauuuugh! Why Is Science So Boring?

I ask myself that all the time.  Why is Science so boring?  And then I ponder the deep, philosophical question that keeps boring old scientists up nights:  Is the human female drawn to science because it is boring, or does the human female’s involvement somehow make the science boring?  Perhaps she is a catalog catalyst for dullness.  (See? I know Science Words.)

Egg, chicken; egg, chicken.  Either way, I am here in one of the Prep rooms to see if I can’t liven things up a bit.  I believe that today I shall start with all of the myriad chemicals that line the shelves and fill the cabinets.

They have such tedious names.  Look at this one:

chemlabels3

Just trying to figure out how to say it is giving me a migraine.  I think an addition to the  cautionary label is in order:

chemlabels4

Aaaaugh!  The name on this one is so cursedly long that they had to wrap it around the bottle!

chemlabels5

And they still had to wrap it to a second line!  Unbelievable.  And with all that, you still can’t tell what the stuff is unless you’re some sort of hot-shot chemist.  Surely we could make things a little simpler.

chemlabels6

You’re welcome.

And while we’re at it, we can clear up a little more confusion on the next shelf over.

chemlabels7

Oh, oh, oh!  Look at this old jar.   What on earth do they use it for, do you suppose?

chemlabels1

Whatever.  It needs a more descriptive label.

chemlabels2

And I haven’t even started in on the organics…

>|: [

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

